Skip to main content

Structure and governance

VSO operates internationally through a series of international fundraising and recruitment hubs, and a strong network of programme offices in developing countries.

VSO is governed by the International Board and Executive Board.

Executive Board

The Executive Board is the main decision-making group within VSO. It holds responsibility for quarterly setting and reviewing of objectives, budgets and the ultimate strategic direction of VSO.

VSO CEO Philip Goodwin

Dr Philip Goodwin, Chief Executive, VSO

Dr Philip Goodwin joined VSO as Chief Executive in March 2015.

Prior to taking up this position, he was Chief Executive of TREE AID from June 2010, where he lead the expansion of programme work into Ethiopia and Niger, doubling the overall number of beneficiaries the organization reaches.

He was also with the British Council for more than a decade, conducted research into poverty issues with the Overseas Development Institute and was a community development volunteer in Mali.

Donne Cameron, Executive Director, Programmes

Donne Cameron, Executive Director, Programmes

Donne Cameron joined VSO in 2012 as regional director for Southern Africa, having spent the previous 10 years with Habitat for Humanity International in South Africa.

She was appointed as director of Africa Group in November 2013, moving to her current executive director role in 2015, and is based in Pretoria.


Kathryn Gordon, Executive Director, People and Organisational Development

Kathryn Gordon, Executive Director, People and Organisational Development

Kathryn Gordon joined VSO in early 2010. She was appointed to her current position in July 2015 and has responsibility for human resources, organisational learning and international volunteering.

Andrew Webb, Executive director, Business development

Andrew Webb, Executive Director, Business Development


Andrew Webb joined VSO in 2016 bringing over 20 years of experience working in international development, most recently as CEO at SolarAid.

In the course of his career, Andrew has worked on public health and community development projects in a range of countries including Ethiopia and Tanzania; he was the start-up CEO of Street Child United, a global campaign for the rights of street children; director of development at International Alert; and, fittingly, started his international development career as a volunteer.

International Board of Trustees

The International Board consists of 12 trustees, each of whom is appointed for a period of up to three years.

The International Board typically meets three times a year. For further information on the roles and responsibilities of the International Board of Trustees, of any of the IB sub-committees, or to contact any of our trustees with respect to their involvement with VSO, please contact the VSO company secretary.

The current members of the International Board of Trustees are:

  • Mari Simonen – Chair of the Board of Trustees
    Deputy Executive Director, UN Population Fund (UNFPA)

  • Sam Younger – Vice Chair
    Chair of CILEx Regulation and serves on the Council of the Advertising Standards Authority

  • Charles Abani
    Chief of Party of the USAID Civil Society project "Strengthening Advocacy and Civic Engagement (SACE)"

  • Baroness Hilary Armstrong

  • Chris Merry
    CEO, Ipes

  • Hardeep Jhutty
    Senior Strategy Advisor at NHS England

  • Dr Noerine Kaleeba
    Patron and founder, TASO Uganda and Vice Chair, Uganda National Health Research Organisation

  • Stephen Pidgeon
    Fundraising consultant (UK)

  • Anjali Sen
    Regional Director for South Asia, International Planned Parenthood Federation (India)>

  • Amanda Rowlatt CBE
    Chief Analyst at the Department for Transport